Part seven of the 15-part feature series ‘How Roger Penske Changed The Indy 500,’ which celebrates the most successful entrant at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway on the 50th anniversary of his first which took place in 1969, peerless chassis designer and race engineer Nigel Bennett.

Bennett’s immediate impact at Penske Cars produced the 1988 Indy 500 winner driven by Rick Mears, the 1989 winner driven by Emerson Fittipaldi, and more, including the legendary Penske PC23 chassis that carried ‘The Beast’, the 1000-horsepower Mercedes-Ilmor stock block engine from 1994.


Join our Facebook Group: